House Speaker’s Husband Paul Pelosi Arrested
Paul Pelosi, the 82-year-old businessman and husband of House Speaker Nancy Pelosi, was arrested on a charge of driving while intoxicated on Saturday night. He was apprehended late Saturday night in Napa County. Paul Pelosi was released from custody at 7:26 a.m. Sunday, according to booking records. He was fined $5000 for his bail amount. He was arrested under the California Vehicle Code, which states that “it is prohibited for a person who has consumed more than 0.08 percent of alcohol in his blood to drive a vehicle.”
“The Speaker will not be commenting on this private matter which occurred while she was on the East Coast,” Pelosi’s spokesman Drew Hammill said in a statement.
A representative for Nancy Peolsi’s office said the speaker was not in California during the incident. On Sunday, Nancy Pelosi received an honorary degree from Brown University and delivered the commencement address to school’s graduating class of 2022.
Paul Pelosi is an American businessman who owns and operates Financial Leasing Service, Inc., a San Francisco-established real estate and consulting firm. He is also the owner of Mountain Lions of the United Football League. Pelosi was born and brought up in San Francisco. He learned a bachelor of science in foreign service at The Hilltop.
He was arrested on the charge of driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs. Drink and drive is known as “driving under the influence” (DUI), a person is intoxicated, But states of USA use different definition of DUI.
Consequences of a DUI
Each state has its own definition of DUI (Driving Under the Influence) . These definitions inform what illegal the drivers have done and also what Prosecutors must prove to get a DUI conviction in court. But the DUI laws in USA have same structure and have to see the proof that the person was operating a vehicle and under the influence. However, these two parts of a DUI charge aren’t always as straightforward as they appear
What is the term Under Influence?
All states basically have two types of DUI laws – impairment and per se laws. In other words, you can be convicted of a DUI:
- Based on being actual impaired by drugs or alcohol, of
- At reality “per se” under the influence it is based on the flock of alcohol and drugs in your system
The level of defect that qualifies as “under the influence” altercates by state in USA. Some states required proof of wreckage, while other states require proof of only slight impairment which is an early stage of memory loss.
Overall, you must be getting per se DUI for having a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08% or more (.05% of more in Utah). And many states – like Washington – also have DUI laws.
Read Also: Thor: Love & Thunder Release Date